Wave Image
Don’t see your city? Drop us a line and let us know where you’d like us to go next.

Send Us Feedback

Thank You

We’re always looking to make The Infatuation the best platform to find restaurants, and we appreciate your feedback!
PROD

Feature

May 4, 2021
These Are The Best, Most Exciting Cookbooks Coming Out This Spring
From Molly Baz’s newest cookbook to a highly anticipated release from the team behind Bavel.
Written by

Whether you enjoy collecting cookbooks for aesthetic shelf purposes or you want to recreate every single recipe Julie & Julia style, there are plenty of great ones coming out this year.

For those looking to refine their technique, Cook This Book and Rodney Scott’s World of BBQ are the ideal guides to help you fine tune skills like knife work and smoking meats. Those who are constantly refreshing flight trends to plan post-pandemic vacays will likely want to grab a new cookbook to explore the culinary traditions of places like Hawai’i, Tasmania, and Oaxaca, to learn more about their food cultures and histories before they travel to their destination.

Here are the best cookbooks of the 2021 so far, plus a couple that you’ll want to go ahead and pre-order because you’ll definitely want to make recipes from them.

We’re recommending these products because we actually use, and like, them. Things you buy through our links may earn us a commission.

An Expansive Soul Food Cookbook

Chef Deborah VanTrece’s new cookbook, The Twisted Soul explores a wide range of Southern cooking, from salads and sides to hearty mains and desserts. There’s something for everyone in VanTrece’s cookbook, with simple and complex recipes all inspired by the many cultures and cuisines in the American South.

Get The Twisted Soul Cookbook: Modern Soul Food with Global Flavors ($32) →

A Cross Cultural Conversation Cookbook

Hawai’i’s rich culinary traditions feature influences from indigenous Hawaiian, Japanese, Chinese, Korean, Portuguese, and Filipino cuisines. Cook Real Hawai’i, by two-time Top Chef finalist Sheldon Simeon and Garrett Snyder acknowledges and highlights all these cross cultural influences with recipes like crispy cauliflower katsu and charred huli-huli chicken, and the book also has absolutely gorgeous photos that will transport you right to the Hawai’ian islands.

Cook Real Hawai’i: A Cookbook ($32) →

If You Can’t Wait To Barbecue All Summer

If you already prepped for spending the upcoming summer months outside with a smoker, be sure to also pick up Rodney Scott’s cookbook, Rodney Scott’s World of BBQ. The James Beard Award winner’s first cookbook is not only filled with mouth-watering recipes and photos for dishes like smoked chicken and BBQ bacon burgers, but it’s also a historical feat as the first ever cookbook written by a Black pitmaster.

Get Rodney Scott’s World of BBQ: Every Day Is a Good Day: ($28)→

A Book That Transports You To Tasmania

I was first introduced to chef Analeise Gregory while flipping through hotel TV channels last fall. Gregory was featured on an episode of National Geographic’s Gordon Ramsay: Uncharted, where she cooked head to head against Ramsay in Tasmania. I was immediately captivated by her cooking expertise and bright disposition, so I was elated when I heard that Gregory released her own cookbook, How the Wild Things Are: Cooking, Fishing and Hunting at the Bottom of the World. The book is a gorgeous trip across Australia’s southernmost island, and a slower food culture of foraging, hunting, and fishing to eat.

Get How Wild Things Are: Cooking, Fishing and Hunting at the Bottom of the World ($28) →

Jake Cohen’s Updated Takes on Jewish Cuisine

This new cookbook from self described “nice Jewish boy” Jake Cohen, updates and reinvents dishes from his Ashkenazi heritage with recipes for Cacio e Pepe Rugelach and Matzo Tiramisu. Some of Cohen’s recipes also take inspiration from his husband’s Persian-Iraqi background, such as Iraqi Beet Kubbeh Soup.

Get Jew-Ish: A Cookbook: Reinvented Recipes from a Modern Mensch ($28)→

For Former Bon Appetit Stans

Molly Baz, formerly a prominent member of the Bon Appetit Cinematic Universe, just released her highly anticipated cookbook which is all about teaching readers foundational cooking techniques. The book also uses QR codes to direct readers to videos (naturally) of things like how to precisely cut an onion, so it’s also a great book for just-starting-out home cooks who want to polish their skills. Baz’s writing strikes a fun and playful tone that might not be for everyone, but it’s still a great gift for your friend who unironically says “noods.”

Get Cook This Book: Techniques That Teach and Recipes to Repeat ($30)→

For Fans of Salt, Fat, Acid, Heat

This cookbook had me at the words “Cheese, Wine, and Bread,” but if you need more convincing, YouTuber Katie Quinn’s new cookbook explores the many ways fermentation is used in your favorite dishes and drinks. The book also features gorgeous hand-drawn illustrations to go with its recipes, so it’s perfect for fans of artsy cookbooks.

Get Cheese, Wine, and Bread: Discovering the Magic of Fermentation in England, Italy, and France ($28) →

A Short And Sweet Cookbook Plus Memoir

The innovative team from Miami’s Hy Vong, Tung Nguyen and Katherine Manning, just released their cookbook, Mango and Peppercorns. The book includes recipes from their acclaimed restaurant, as well as their moving story of how the two women learned to work together and helped raise Tung’s daughter, Lyn over a decades-long partnership.

Get Mango and Peppercorns: A Memoir of Food, an Unlikely Family, and the American Dream ($25)→

Travel To Mexico’s Culinary Capital With This Cookbook

This new cookbook from Oaxacan born-and-raised chef Alejandro Ruiz explores recipes, techniques, and culinary traditions from the region. Recipes include how to make your own tortillas, and decadent dishes like Duck Tacos with Coloradito.

Get The Food of Oaxaca: Recipes and Stories from Mexico’s Culinary Capital ($32) →

A Love Letter To San Francisco’s Chinatown

Of all the books on this list, you’ll definitely want to grab a copy of Mr Jiu’s in Chinatown. Mr Jiu’s (the restaurant) was not only one of our most-recommended restaurants in San Francisco that’s perfect for almost any dining scenario, but this cookbook from chef Brandon Jew and writer Tienlon Ho also expands on the restaurant’s origins in Chinatown and the neighborhood’s rich culinary and personal history.

Get Mister Jiu’s in Chinatown: Recipes and Stories from the Birthplace of Chinese American Food ($37)→

If You’re Not Sick Of Baking Yet

After working your way through sourdoughs and the latest viral recipe of the week, consider this new book on baking cakes. It’s just in time for birthday parties to be a thing again.

Get Zoë Bakes Cakes: Everything You Need to Know to Make Your Favorite Layers, Bundts, Loaves, and More ($28) →

The Requisite Celebrity Cookbook

Pepper Tiegen is probably best known as the mom of Chrissy Tiegen (who’s written a couple cookbooks herself). Her first cookbook includes 80 Thai-influenced recipes, from Pad Thai brussels sprouts to more traditional offerings like tom zapp hot and sour soup. Throughout the book, Tiegen also shares stories about her life, as well as her relationships with her famous family members.

Get The Pepper Thai: Recipes From Everyone’s Favorite Thai Mom ($18) →

A Modern Asian Cookbook That You’ll Use Everyday

Eastern and Western culinary traditions and flavors come together seamlessly in this highly anticipated cookbook from Hetty McKinnon. Recipes include dishes you’ll easily recreate again and again like Finger-lickin’ Good Edamame Beans with Fried Curry Leaves and not-too-sweet desserts like Tamarind Apple Crisp.

Get To Asia, With Love: Everyday Asian Recipes and Stories From the Heart ($32)→

For Your Friend Who Won’t Stop Talking About Their Dutch Oven

If you or someone you know recently hopped on the [dutch oven] (https://www.theinfatuation.com/products/features/staub-dutch-oven-review) train, this new cookbook from Nerds with Knives’ Emily and Matt Clifton provides tons of recipes and dishes to get the most out of your purchase.

Get The Ultimate Dutch Oven Cookbook: The Best Recipes on the Planet for Everyone’s Favorite Pot ($20) →

Something To Satisfy Your Travel Bug Before We’re Allowed To Go Places Again

If you’re itching to travel but not ready to book a flight just yet, this gorgeous cookbook should help you eat around the world from the comfort and safety of your own home. Author Renee Erickson jumps from places like Rome, Normandy, London and more with recipes like Mussels in Vadouvan Curry, Apricot and Bay Leaf Bellini, and Savory Buckwheat Crepes.

**Get Getaway: Food & Drink to Transport You ($37)→

A Beautiful Cookbook You’ll Want To Keep On Your Coffee Table

Award-winning cookbook author of The Palestinian Table Reem Kassis just released her second book with even more dishes from the world of Arabic cuisine. Kassis’s book includes heavily researched recipes from historical periods on the Arabic peninsula, as well as folding in modern flavors and ingredients to create recipes like Caramelized Butternut Squash Fatteh with Za’atar. Each page of The Arabesque Table is gorgeous and insightful, making it a very chic cookbook to display as well as use in your home.

Get The Arabesque Table: Contemporary Recipes from the Arab World ($36) →

The New Nigella Lawson Book

Sure it’s a little cheugy, but when it comes to gifts for the Mom or Aunt you haven’t seen in months, you can’t go wrong with a Nigella Lawson cookbook. Lawson’s latest offering has more than 100 recipes for classic dishes like Chicken with Garlic Cream Sauce and Chocolate Peanut Butter Cake, plus essays about her life in food in her signature prose.

Get Cook, Eat, Repeat: Ingredients, Recipes, and Stories ($29) →

Bavel’s Very Hyped About Cookbook

If you still haven’t had the chance to check out Middle Eastern restaurant, Bavel, in L.A., their highly anticipated cookbook comes out in May. Chef Ori Menashe and pastry chef Genevieve Gergis mission for their second restaurant aims to celebrate a Middle Eastern cuisine without borders, with recipes that take inspiration and ingredients from various countries and cultures like Turmeric Chicken with Toum, and Date-Walnut Tart.

Get Bavel: Modern Recipes Inspired by the Middle East ($37)→

A Plant-Based Book to Pre-Order

If you’re looking for an excuse to start eating more plant-based meals, look no further than Samah Dada’s new cookbook, Dada Eats Love to Cook It. The book comes out later this year in June, but when it does, it’ll have tons of vegan, allergen-free, gluten-free, grain-free recipes that are inclusive to dietary restrictions but are still packed with flavor.

Get Dada Eats Love to Cook It: 100 Plant-Based Recipes for Everyone at Your Table ($25) →

You'll need a better browser for that!
Upgrade to Chrome and start finding Restaurants.